The form always displays the notes and document references for the selected record. If you leave the form open while selecting another record, the form is updated to display notes and document references for that record.
You can lock the view so that the form keeps displaying the documents for the record that you have locked.
Lock the document handling view
Unlock the document handling view
On the form, click > .