When using source code control, you must pay special attention when you delete resources from your dictionary. Depending on the type of resource you’re deleting, you may need to perform some maintenance tasks in the repository.
If you’re deleting a base resource, such as a datatype or field, you won’t need to perform any maintenance tasks in the repository. Because base resources are stored as a group, deleting a resource is just like any other change to the source file.
If you’re deleting a standard resource, such as a form or table, you will need to perform an additional operation to have the repository be updated properly. When you delete a resource, you want future revisions of the dictionary to no longer include it. However, you want earlier revisions to still include the resource. To have this occur, do the following:
To delete a resource, you must have it check out from the source code control repository.
Delete the resource from the dictionary, as you normally would.
The source file for the resource will still be listed in the repository view in the Resource Explorer. Select the source file for the resource you just deleted and click Check In. An empty version of the source file will be check into the source code control repository.
All of the earlier revisions of the source file will still exist in the repository. You will still see the source file when you view the contents of the repository with Dexterity. However, the empty source file will prevent the source file from being converted into a resource in future revisions of your dictionary.